Land Laws of Bangladesh

Land laws in Bangladesh are primarily governed by the following key legislations:

  1. The State Acquisition and Tenancy Act, 1950: This act deals with the acquisition and management of land, including the rights and interests of landowners, tenants, and occupants. It provides guidelines for land acquisition by the government, settlement of disputes, and determination of land revenue.
  2. The Registration Act, 1908: This act relates to the registration of various documents, including land deeds, mortgages, leases, and other property-related transactions. It specifies the procedures for registering these documents to ensure their legal validity and enforceability.
  3. The Transfer of Property Act, 1882: This act governs the transfer of property, including land, through sale, gift, lease, or mortgage. It sets out the rights and obligations of the parties involved in such transfers and provides rules for the creation, transfer, and extinction of property rights.
  4. The Land Survey Act, 1875: This act deals with the survey and demarcation of land boundaries. It establishes the procedures for conducting surveys, preparing maps, and settling boundary disputes.
  5. The Land Reforms Ordinance, 1984: This ordinance aims to ensure equitable distribution of land by imposing limitations on land ownership and imposing restrictions on land transfers. It includes provisions for land ceilings, vesting of surplus land, and the establishment of Land Reform Boards to implement land reform measures.
  6. The Vested Property Return Act, 2001: This act provides for the return of vested properties to their rightful owners. Vested properties are those that were confiscated by the government from minority communities or individuals deemed to be enemies of the state.


Comments are closed


Latest Comments

No comments to show.